1091 Hospital Road, Franklin IN 46131 Administration: 317-736-9155Investigations: 317-346-4615Jail 317-346-4716 Fax: 317-736-2200
Connect with us on Nextdoor

Where do I go to obtain or renew my Indiana Permit to carry Application?


  • If you live in Johnson County, but outside of the incorporated limits to any city or town, you will come to the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office to complete your local processing payment for license or renewal.
  • If you are not sure if you are inside an incorporated area or not, contact the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office Communication Center at 317-736-5155 and inquire with the Sheriff’s dispatcher.

What are the steps for completing my application?

NEW FOR OCTOBER 1 2014 All applicants must be fingerprinted electronically.

  • Step 1: Complete the online application at https://firearms.ariesportal.com/. At the end of the application, you will receive directions on how to schedule electronic fingerprinting (step 2) and payment of state fee.
  • Step 2: Schedule electronic fingerprinting through MorphoTrust/L1 Enrollment. Electronic fingerprinting is not done at the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office. To schedule an appointment at the nearest location near you, call 1-877-472-6917.
  • Step 3: Bring your Application Number and receipt of fingerprinting to either your local Police Department or The Sheriff’s Office for approval.
  • Step 4: Your application will be electronically transferred to ISP for final review.

Where is the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office?

The Johnson County Law Enforcement Facility is located in Franklin directly behind Johnson Memorial Hospital. The address is 1091 Hospital Road, Franklin, Indiana 46131.

What hours can I come in to fill out the application?

By order of the Johnson County Sheriff, gun permits are done 24 hours a day, 7 days per week for your convenience.

What do I need to bring with me?

  • Applicants will be required to bring a Driver’s License with their current address and the correct amount of cash needed for the local fee. WE DO NOT HAVE CHANGE. YOU MUST HAVE THE CORRECT AMOUNT.

You will also need to bring the receipt of fingerprinting provided by Morpho Trust (L-1).

On July 1st 2006 the Indiana law was changed to create a “Lifetime Handgun License”, renewals for an existing license will only be accepted 180 days or less from the date of expiration. The new fee schedule is as follows:

License Type Local Fee State Fee
1. Four (4) year Hunting/Target $10/$5 Cash Refundable* $5.00 Money Order
2. Four (4) year Personal Protection $10/$5 Cash Refundable* $30.00 Money Order
3. Lifetime Hunting/Target
with No Current License
$50/$30 Cash Refundable* $25.00 Money Order
4. Lifetime Hunting/Target
with Current/Valid Indiana License
$40/$30 Cash Refundable* $20.00 Money Order
5. Lifetime Personal Protection
with No Current License
$50/$30 Cash Refundable* $75.00 Money Order
6. Lifetime Personal Protection
with Current/Valid Indiana License
$40/$30 Cash Refundable* $60.00 Money Order
7. Duplicate Not Provided in Law $20.00 Money Order
8. Retired Law Enforcement Officer Not Provided in Law Fee Exempt †
9. Retired Corrections Officer Not Provided in Law Fee Exempt †
10. Firearms Dealer Not Provided in Law $60.00 Money Order

Additional Fees – All NEW license applications incur a $11.95 fee for MorphoTrust Electronic Fingerprinting. Additionally, ALL license applications incur an IN.gov processing fee that varies according to the license type.††

Local Fee Information – Please note that local fees cannot be paid online. Please contact your local police department or sheriff’s office for information on local fee payment policies.

Special Notes – * A portion of the local fee is refundable if a license is not issued. The entire state fee is refundable if no license is issued.

† Fee exemption applies only to the initial license application. ALL duplicate licenses incur of a fee of $20.00.

†† The online payment service is provided through a partnership between the State of Indiana and its online service provider. A processing fee of $1.00 plus 2% of the transaction amount is added to the price of the service, as outlined in Indiana Code 4-13.1-2-4. For applicants who do not want to use the online service, the applicant will need to bring a certified check or money order to the Indiana State Police Firearms Unit located in Indianapolis Indiana at General Headquarters. The address is 100 N. Senate Avenue, Indiana Government Center North room 302.

Do I need a gun permit just to have one in my business or home?

Indiana Law states that a handgun license is not required to carry a handgun in the person’s dwelling, on the person’s property or their fixed place of business, so long as they have the right to possess said firearm not contrary to other restrictions or criminal convictions.

You CANNOT obtain an Indiana Handgun Permit if you:

  • Have a conviction for resisting law enforcement within five years before the person applies for a license or permit
  • Have a conviction for a crime for which he could have been sentenced for more than one (1) year
  • Have a record of being an alcohol abuser, meaning one who has had two or more alcohol related offenses, any one (1) of which resulted in conviction by a court or treatment in an alcohol abuse facility within three (3) years prior to the date of application o Have a record of being a drug abuser, meaning one who has had two (2) or more violations of: Dealing in Cocaine, Dealing in Narcotics, or Dealing in a Schedule I, II, III, IV, or V Controlled substances – Any one of which resulted in conviction by a court or treatment in a drug abuse facility within five (5) years prior to the date of application.
  • Have documented evidence which would give rise to a reasonable belief that he has a propensity for violent or emotionally unstable conduct
  • Make a false statement of material fact on his application
  • Have a conviction of any crime involving an inability to safely handle a handgun
  • Have a conviction for violations of the provisions of IC 35-47 within the last five (5) years of his application
  • Have adjudication as a delinquent child for an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult, if the person applying for a license or permit under this chapter is less than twenty-three (23) years of age.
Indiana Code 35-47-2-1 also states:
  • A person who has been convicted of Domestic Battery may not possess or carry a handgun in any vehicle or on or about the person’s body in the person’s dwelling or on the person’s property or fixed place of business